Filtering LinkedIn Question and Answers to see what you want…

I’ve always been attracted by LinkedIn Question and Answer feature and particularly attracted in some sections like Offshoring and Outsourcing (link a:  ), Technology and its also internal categories and Using LinkedIn.

 

Nevertheless, there is too much information and too less time with me to be there. I want to go directly to what I looking for without wasting my time in some questions and topics that aren’t my business.

 

So… how can I get what I’m looking for? As an example, I will say:

I’m interested in questions on Technology about some tech issues like .NET, C# and Object Oriented (because this issues is what I do every day) and no more than that (I mean, I don’t want questions about PERL or Web hosting or whatever).

 

What do I have to do now if I want to get that? LinkedIn offers two different ways to get questions and Answers. The first one is navigating through the LinkedIn.com website making manually advanced searches on the topics you are interested in and then, read questions that appear on the search result.

 

Advanced Search

 

The second way is getting the RSS feeds of each answer category you want (look at the second picture) and then, using a Feed Filter and Combine website or tool do the advanced search you want to and read them on a feed reader like Google Reader, bloglines.com or whatever feed reader you use.

 

 

Feed Exporting

 

 WHAT??? “Using a Feed Filter and Combine website or tool”??? Yes, exactly that. There are some websites like feedrinse or blasfeed that let the user do some filter and combine issues to get exactly what they are looking for.

With both of those websites you can filter my sample idea (getting just .NET , C# and Object Oriented topics) from LinkedIn Technology questions and get a very small feed with exactly what you are looking for in an automatically way. It costs some initial time to sign up on those websites and configure filter and combine options but I must say that you will be very happy with what you will get from them.

 

By the way, I had been using Feedrinse in a RSS feed widget on my blog home page till a week ago. I haven’t experienced too much performance when using it but I guess my Feeds filtering/combination was extremely big so I can’t say a word but thanks for giving me that good service and doing for free.

Just take a look at those websites and do filtering and combination of whatever you want to get the most from Linkedin Answers.

One Response to Filtering LinkedIn Question and Answers to see what you want…

  1. […] I mentioned in a previous post applied to LinkedIn.com Question and Answer section, filtering and combination of feeds is also […]

Leave a Reply

